he was somebody

Posted: December 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

Today, I witnessed the saddest death. And all I could think of was: “he was somebody’s father. He was somebody’s father.” Over and over, that same thought played in my mind. As I wiped the dried blood from his forehead – “he was somebody’s father.” As I struggled to help lift him off the floor back to the bed – “he was somebody’s father.” As I combed his hair for the last time in a fashion that would make his death, or the mysterious circumstances that led to that, appear decent – “he was somebody’s father.” As I covered half his body with fresh sheets to make it seem as if he’s just napping – “he was somebody’s father.” As I scrubbed my hands off the perpetual stench of loss – “he was somebody’s father.”

And up until then, I have never even met the man.

I’m so sorry it wasn’t smooth sailing. I’m sorry it wasn’t so pretty. But may you rest in peace, Mr. B.

Leave a Reply

