Because I don’t think the truth about men can be found in a book.

Posted: August 10, 2010 in CINEMATICS, GOOD READS, PEACE.LOVE.UNITY.RESPECT. FREEDOM
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The real impact is specific.

And I feel like if I can get a few of these men to open up with real stories about their desires and their fears, then I can begin to get answers.

– Okay, and what is it you want answers to?

Well–

– No, I don’t need to know.

But you do.

Every man I fall for drinks his coffee black. “Love” and “hate” are tattooed on his knuckles and my name is on his back.

Every man I fall for works the graveyard shift. He kisses me softly to wake me up and takes my place in bed.

And I fall.

I live with one concern. It’s the law. Diminishing returns. It’s the law. Diminishing returns.

Every man I fall for keeps his anger on a string and holds it tight. When other men walk by blinking their eyes at me, he always pick a fight.

I go walk alone down Ocean Boulevard, peek in your windows. Tired housewives nagging at their husbands.

But is this the life you chose?

And I fall.

I live with one concern. It’s the law. Diminishing returns.

And I fall.

I live with one concern. It’s the law. Diminishing returns.

Every man I fall for, nearly every man…

Every man I fall for –

nearly every man.

***

Existence and life break people in all kinds of awful fucking ways all the time.

Trust me, I know. I’ve been there.

And this is the big difference, you and me here. Because this isn’t about politics or feminism or whatever. For you, this is just ideas.

You’ve never been there.

***

The solution is to realize that today’s woman is in an impossible situation and wants what any human being faced with two conflicting sets of responsibilities is gonna want: a way out.

An escape hatch.

A passionate male.

We want to be overwhelmed with passion.

When we say, “I am responsible for my own sexuality; “I am my own person; I don’t need a man,” what we really are telling you is what we want you to make us forget, which is–

What we’re telling you is what we want you to make us forget.

***

Well, be happy.

Because I don’t care.

I knew s/he could.

And I knew I loved.

End of story.

Leave a Reply

