prose iii (december 2008)

Posted: July 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

If you don’t hear from me again
pour sand in your clocks
and come close
to the bell of the color red
If you don’t hear from me again
put your ear between the body
of the dog run down on the highway
and its mate, tongue out, panting over it
If you don’t hear from me again
say love grew sick of waiting around
and kicked in the boarded-up windows
you stepped away from
If you don’t hear from me again
go out on the road
that leads to the dangerous seasons…
the first sunbeam that touches you
that’s it, that’s all of love
lie down with it forever
If you don’t hear from me again
close your books your passports
and look me up
in the red-hot dictionary of the sun
If you don’t hear from me again
look out for that other who never blinks
who sees through you through everything.
If you don’t hear from me again
you are not listening.

Leave a Reply

