“LOVE IS A MIX TAPE” is the perfect summer read. WHY? Because I said so. (june 2010)

Posted: July 21, 2010 in GOOD READS
Tags: , , , , ,

1, 2, 5, 10, 14 Reasons…

1. Upon waking up at 6:43 a.m. this morning my first thought was not ‘fuck my alarm won’t go off for another seventeen minutes’ it was ‘goody, now I can finish Love is a Mix Tape.’

2. Renée loved The Replacements and Alex Chilton and the Meat Puppets. So did I. (page 3)

3. It’s a fundamental human need to pass music around, and however the technology evolves, the music keeps moving. (page 24)

4. The times you lived through, the people you shared those times with – nothing brings it life like an old mix tape. (page 26)

5. For dudes who are totally clueless about social interaction, ergo completely scared of girls.. Yes, music is going to make girls fall in love with you. (page 29) “If the girls keep dancing, everybody’s happy. If the girls don’t dance, nobody’s happy.”

6. But I loved the cassock and surplice, ringing the bells, lighting the candles – it was like being a glam-rock roadie for God. (pages 40 – 41)

One of Renee’s friends asked her, “Does your boyfriend wear glasses?” She said, “No, he wears a Walkman.”

7. I used one of my favorite rhyme schemes – rhyming the first syllable of a trochee with the final syllable in the next line. How could anyone resist? (page 60)

8. The entire chapter ‘Sheena was a man’ which will make your heart ache with longing and make you wish someone loved you like this.

9. I felt for Renée. She was braver. She always wanted to know what happened next. (page 86) “Unlike me, Renee was not shy; she was a real people-pleaser. She worried way too much what people thought of her, wore her heart on her sleeve, expected too much from people, and got hurt too easily. She kept other people’s secrets like a champ, but told her own too fast. She expected the world not to cheat her and was always surprised when it did.”

10. I hear the noise in his voice, and I hear a boy trying to scare the darkness away. I wish I could hear what happened next, but nothing did. (page 130)

11. Page 147 which made me cry so hard that I had to put down the book and go find some Kleenex. “When we die, we will turn into songs, and we will hear each other and remember each other.”

12. Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you incredibly annoying. (page 190)

13. I also assumed I’d never be able to take listening to The Replacements again, but then I made a new friend this summer who wore a rubberband around his wrist with ‘Westerberg’ written on it. (page 205)

14. Because when Rock & Roll died, the 90’s was the next best thing. “I get sentimental over the music of the ’90s. Deplorable, really. But I love it all. As far as I’m concerned the ’90s was the best era for music ever, even the stuff that I loathed at the time, even the stuff that gave me stomach cramps.”

***

“But for me, if we’re talking about romance, cassettes wipe the floor with MP3s. This has nothing to do with superstition, or nostalgia. MP3s buzz straight to your brain. That’s part of what I love about them. But the rhythm of the mix tape is the rhythm of romance, the analog hum of a physical connection between two sloppy human bodies. The cassette is full of tape hiss and room tone; it’s full of wasted space, unnecessary noise. Compared to the go-go-go rhythm of an MP3, mix tapes are hopelessly inefficient. You go back to a cassette the way a detective sits and pours drinks for the elderly motel clerk who tells stories about the old days–you know you might be somewhat bored, but there might be a clue in there somewhere. And if there isn’t, what the hell? It’s not a bad time. You know you will waste time. You plan on it.”
— Rob Sheffield (Love Is a Mix Tape)

Leave a Reply

